Japanese documentary about what happened to the lives of inhabitants of the most nearby town from the disastrous atomic power-plant of Fukushima.
7 out 10.


Today my day was queued for 3 asian movies, after I myself returned to the queues for tickets…
This film was at emblematic Delphi, 1st time for me this year
Delphi

As usual, it already was packed and a bit chaotic at the lobby. Queuing here is difficult, and you can feel the stress of the majority of the Germans annoyed with the others that “cut way”…

Inside the room, it was once again almost full

Forum
Nuclear Nation
D: Funahashi Atsushi
Japan 2012
Japanese
Sat Feb 11 14:00 Delphi Filmpalast (E)

The documentary turned out to be a bit long, but I was in stress due to “conflicting schedules” with the following session.
Overall it followed a chronological sequence depicting the (incredibly calm) acceptance of a status of “refugees” by the inhabitants of Futaba, now a restricted area. We are shown mainly some (remains of) families, and the Mayor. For me, amazingly breakthrough, was to see the “confession” of the Mayor towards the end… but also his vocal concerns about “being a nuclear municipality” at the association of pair towns. This should be a contra-propaganda obligatory to watch when having “local meetings” for convincing “villagers” to accept a possible new nuclear station, anywhere in the world!
Personally I didn’t like the (unneeded) attempt to emotional manipulate, through the soundtracking of “sad musics” when key scenes were shown: the return from the only allowed visit to the “remains” of their homes, and on other moments towards the end of the film. I guess the director was afraid that the viewers would not feel sorry enough for that unrooted people… not my favourite way of documenting…
I don’t want to give away the flow of the watching experience, or to focus on repeating details from the film… and, as I intend, my blogging is for noting down my impressions. So, finally, I wanted to stress that me and most of the audience, we still experience a “culture-shock” every time we see japanese documentaries. And I think about the previous years of Berlinale, for bringing context to that thought. Me and “all the germans” laughed with awkwardness along scenes like the one where they rally through the streets of Tokyo and stop next to the stand? of the opposition party. There, people say mildly aggressive words (that you know are euphemisms for the anger they previously confessed being experiencing) WHILE shaking hands with them, and bowing… without subtitles I would have get a completely different idea.

Final talk:
Unfortunately, I knew from the beginning I wouldn’t be able to stay long for that moment, as my next film was coming 😦
But I saw the director (Funahashi Atsushi), and heard his first answer explaining how he got in that project. Basically he was about to film a feature film in the region, and it obviously got canceled. Without work, he followed the development of the crisis and then visited the inhabitants that were relocated nearby him at Tokyo.