Yesterday we had tickets for the opening ceremony,
Not with the “royalty” of the vips, but with the “people” at friedrich palast…
Nothing more appropriated, as the movie dealt with the last days of the French monarchy:
Les adieux à la Reine | Farewell My Queen D: Benoït Jacquot French, 100 min Competition Thu Feb 09 20:30 Friedrichstadt-Palast (D)

I had problems following the full nuance of the plot as the spoken French was difficult and my understanding of the German subtitles was not good enough.
But it seemed a more realistic approach on the life of the falling court and its followers. I heard some viewers saying that it portrayed the royalty in a very good light, paradoxly just after all the ceremony opening speeches having been very in favour of freedom and democracy…
The cast was believable, the camera gave us the feeling of stress of that troubled days, and the plot (under my reduced grasp) was interesting enough…
I’ll give it 7 out of 10

The highlight of the evening was the ceremony, and the fact that the head of festival (dieter Kosslick) brought the director (Benoït Jacquot) to us, so that we could have a live look of them just before the projection…

image